top of page

Turning Pain into Productivity

November 18th, 2019 was a hard day. If you want to hear more about it, you can read this post:

https://www.instagram.com/p/B6OT2tKh6e5/

Hours later, I didn't want to bring my camera...

and I'm so glad I did. Pictures of the native Hawaiian traditions turned into award winning photos at the Utah Dance Film Festival.

I know I'm depressed when I don't want to pick up my camera, so hello WINTER but one thing that helps me through creative ruts is to remember this simple fact: a majority of the greatest artists of all time deeply suffered from a mental health illness. They learned to channel that pain into productivity and it helps me think that maybe I can use my issues to connect to others on a deeper level. Don't cut off your ear like Van Gogh, or be unnecessarily mean like Mozart but think of the Aretha Franklin powerhouses that spurred women empowerment and some of the best break up songs ever created.

We can do hard things.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page